Board of Supervisors

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Form of Government

Appomattox County utilizes a traditional County Board form of government under the authority of the Code of Virginia, 1950, as amended.  The county is governed by a five (5) member Board of Supervisors, each elected from one of the County's five (5) election districts.

Meetings of the Board

Unless otherwise posted, regular meetings of the Board of Supervisors are held the 3rd Monday of each month at 6:30 P.M. 

When the 3rd Monday is a State Holiday, the meetings are held the next day (Tuesday) at the same 6:30 P.M. time.

Also unless otherwise posted, all regular meetings of the Board of Supervisors are held at the Board of Supervisors' Meeting Room in the Carver-Price Complex across Confederate Boulevard from Auto-Mattox (formerly Cardinal Chevrolet).  Parking and entrance to the Board's Meeting Room are at the rear of the building accessible only from Price's Lane.  The address of the meeting room is 171 Price Lane, Appomattox, Virginia.

Meet the Board of Supervisors    

Appomattox River District:  William H. Hogan, Vice-Chairman

Courthouse District:  Samuel E. Carter, Chairman

Falling River District:  John F. Hinkle

Piney Mountain District:  Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr.

Wreck Island District:  Trevor L. Hipps


You are encouraged to communicate your ideas, concerns, and issues with your Board representative.