Local Emergency Planning Committee


  • Exact time and location are decided by the Chairperson
  • Normally Be Scheduled on the Second Thursday of March and September


  • Mary Kathryn Alley, Near Southwest Preparedness Alliance
  • Travis Ayers, Tiger Fuel
  • Jason Blankenship, Virginia Department of Health (VDH)
  • Robert Brown, Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)
  • Troy Carpenter, Norfolk Southern Corporation
  • Town of Appomattox
  • Lucy Carter Smith, VDEM, Disaster Response and Recovery Officer
  • Shane Richardson, Pamplin Volunteer Fire
  • S. Ray Earp, VDEM, Regional Hazardous Materials Officer
  • Jeff Elder, Public Works, Town of Appomattox
  • Eddie Glover, Williams Gas and Pipeline
  • Jonathan Garrett, Appomattox Volunteer Fire Department
  • Appomattox County Emergency Coordinator
  • Board of Supervisor member
  • Billy Mann, VDOT, LEPC - Lynchburg District
  • Vicky Phelps, Appomattox County Treasurer
  • Shane Richardson, Pamplin Volunteer Fire
  • Jeff Sayre, Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)
  • Robby Richardson, Appomattox County Sheriff
  • Susan Adams, Appomattox County Administrator
  • Susan Walton, Appomattox Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • John Vannoy, Emergency Communications Supervisor
  • Matt Wilbun, Central Virginia Electric Cooperative

Committee members are appointed by the Appomattox County Board of Supervisors and must include one representative from each of the following disciplines, with each member serving in only one membership category:

  • Broadcast/Print Media
  • Community Groups
  • Emergency Management
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Environmental
  • Firefighting
  • Health
  • Hospital
  • Industry
  • Law Enforcement
  • Local/state government
  • Transportation

Participation by Members of the Public

Members of the public are encouraged to attend all regular and special meetings of the Committee. An opportunity will be provided at each meeting for members of the public to address the Committee on matters relating to local emergency preparedness. A member of the public who desires to address the Committee may mail a written notice of intent to appear to the Chairperson at the address found below. Members of the public who appear at the meeting and wish to address the Committee will be allowed to do so without prior notice; however, they will be required to wait until after any members of the public who have provided such notice have spoken. Members of the public are also encouraged to provide written opinions and information to the Committee by mailing written materials to the Chairperson at P. O. Box 787, Appomattox, Va. 24522. Members of the public include, but are not limited to, citizens, industry representatives, experts, expert witnesses and governmental entity representatives.

Purpose & Function

To ensure compliance with all acts required by SARA Title III, The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986, 

To provide advisory input into Appomattox County emergency management planning and assist in the preparation of an emergency response plan that, at a minimum, addresses the requirement of SARA Title III.

Other activities to further emergency preparedness in Appomattox County.